Austin Entertainment News: 36th Annual Austin Music Awards at ACL Live at the Moody Theater

Tiarra Girls – This photo was taken by David Brendan Hall for last year’s Austin Music Awards as the winners were at the podium to receive their award. (Source: AMA2018)

By Liz Lopez

The Austin Music Awards (AMAs) includes some fabulous and award winning musicians to perform at the 36th Annual Awards on Wednesday, February 28 at ACL Live at the Moody Theater. Austin’s Alejandro Escovedo and David Garza are on the schedule and the AMAs have created a most memorable night of music carefully curated for this year’s AMA lineup. The organizers strongly believe the “Future is Now” and that more than ever music has a crucial role in reminding us that great art is culturally and humanly inclusive. As in years past, don’t be surprised if the AMAs produce a very special guest or two.

Rick McNulty and Laurie Gallardo of KUTX will return to host the awards ceremony whose proceeds benefit the SIMS Foundation.

The Tiarra Girls posted in late January that they made it to the Austin Music Poll Final Round in the Under 18 category, and the Austin Chronicle posted on January 18th a photo of Chulita Vinyl Club as a nominee for “Best Performing Band “None of the Above.” Fastball also posted on their website that they had made the Final Round in two categories.

In past years, there have been legendary performers, guests, and presenters such as Robert Plant, Chrissie Hynde, Fab 5 Freddy, Terry Allen, Blondie, Bruce Springsteen, and Pete Townshend taking the stage at the Austin Music Awards to celebrate the Austin musicianship that this city is now known for the world over.

The awards show which honors the winners of the Austin Chronicle Music Poll brings an all-star lineup of performers together including David Ramirez and Adam Torres, who will perform with Grammy-winning producer Adrian Quesada, and special guests Riders Against the Storm, Trizzol, Reggie Coby, Da’Shade, Vocab, and Bavu Blakes.

Charlie Sexton will serve as Music Director, and for the second year, Mayor Steve Adler shows his support by presenting the Mayor’s House Band with Michael Ramos, John Michael Schoepf and Conrad Choucroun.

The Austin Music Awards announced that the Townes Van Zandt Songwriting Award will be presented to singer-songwriter Joe Ely, and the Margaret Moser Women in Music Award will be presented to Liz Lambert, founder and Creative Director of Bunkhouse Hotels by Grammy Award winner and musician, Lucinda Williams.

For more information and buying tickets, visit .

Source: Austin Music Awards

Leave a comment