Local Movie News: The 20th Annual Austin Film Festival’s Honorees




Breaking Bad’s Vince Gilligan named “Outstanding Television Writer”


Bones EP Barry Josephson to receive inaugural “Heart of Film” Award

At the Fest’s 20th Anniversary October 24-31, 2013


Austin, TX, — April 24, 2013 – Austin Film Festival (AFF) is thrilled to announce accomplished filmmaker Jonathan Demme as their 2013 recipient of the “Extraordinary Contribution to Filmmaking” Award.  Demme is best known for directing THE SILENCE OF THE LAMBS, which won him an Academy Award for Best Director, and critically acclaimed films PHILADELPHIA and RACHEL GETTING MARRIED, among others.

Vince Gilligan, creator of the highly acclaimed and popular television series Breaking Bad and writer/executive producer of the hit series The X-Files, will be honored as this year’s “Outstanding Television Writer” Awardee. His other credits include the Fox Television series The Lone Gunmen, which he co-created, and the features HANCOCK, HOME FRIES and WILDER NAPALM.

Film and television producer, Barry Josephson, will receive the Festival’s inaugural “Heart of Film” Award for his many contributions to film and television, and service to the screenwriting industry.  In addition to executive producing the popular FOX television drama Bones, Josephson’s recent film projects include, LIFE AS WE KNOW IT, released by Warner Brothers, TURN, soon to be released by AMC network, and the international Walt Disney hit film, ENCHANTED.

Demme, Gilligan, and Josephson will accept their awards at the Festival’s annual award luncheon held on October 26th at the Austin Club.

“In our 20th Anniversary year, we are asserting, that we are, and have always been, the foremost writers’ festival,” said Barbara Morgan, AFF Co-Founder and Executive Director.  “We are beyond proud to be honoring filmmaking legend Jonathan Demme, TV’s most sought-after creator, Vince Gilligan, and acclaimed producer, Barry Josephson – and we have many great surprises ahead.”

The 2013 Conference panelists also read like a ‘who’s who’ of Hollywood’s A-list filmmakers.  Attending this year’s festival are John August (writer CHARLIE AND THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY, BIG FISH), Alec Berg (writer/executive producer Curb Your Enthusiasm), Peter Craig (writer THE TOWN), Leslie Dixon (writer OVERBOARD), Todd Garner (Broken Road Productions), Akiva Goldsman (writer A BEAUTIFUL MIND, I AM LEGEND), Rian Johnson (writer BRICK, LOOPER), Franklin Leonard (creator of The Black List), Ashley Miller (writer THOR, X-MEN: FIRST CLASS), Jeff Nichols (writer MUD, TAKE SHELTER), Terry Rossio (writer SHREK, PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN franchise), Rob Thomas (creator/writer Veronica Mars), and Beau Willimon (writer/executive producer House of Cards).

Austin Film Festival annually recognizes outstanding filmmakers and screenwriters for their consistently exceptional body of work with the Extraordinary Contribution to Filmmaking Award and the Outstanding Television Writer Award.  Previous Extraordinary Contribution to Filmmaking award recipients include Danny Boyle, Frank Darabont, Ron Howard, John Lasseter, Sydney Pollack, Robert Rodriguez, and Oliver Stone; Outstanding Television Writer Awardees include David Chase, Mitchell Hurwitz, David Milch, Garry Shandling, and David Simon.  


Austin Film Festival (AFF) is a non-profit organization dedicated to furthering the art, craft, and business of filmmakers and screenwriters. In addition to a robust list of year-round events, AFF is producing its 20th Annual Film Festival & Conference in 2013. AFF is known as a uniquely pro-artist and interactive idea exchange. Its uncommonly loyal following is due to the fact that the organization has spotlighted the minds and imaginations behind projects for two decades—a trend now picking up steam in the industry.  As director and producer Ron Howard said, Austin Film Festival “is really about creativity, about trying to help people find their voice. You sense it. There’s a spirit of camaraderie that’s palpable.” AFF is a greenhouse for projects and a clubhouse for legendary and emerging artists.

Austin Film Festival is funded and supported in part by a grant from the Texas Commission on the Arts, City of Austin Economic Growth & Redevelopment Services Office/Cultural Arts Division believing an investment in the Arts is an investment in Austin’s future. Additional support is provided by KUT, KVUE, Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences®, Alice Kleberg Reynolds Foundation, and Shweiki Media.

Past participants of the Festival & Conference include Wes Anderson, Robert Altman, James L. Brooks, Sandra Bullock, Joel & Ethan Coen, Russell Crowe, Claire Danes, Robert Duvall, James Franco, Buck Henry, Dennis Hopper, Lawrence Kasdan, Barry Levinson, Harold Ramis, Bryan Singer, Jason Schwartzman, Caroline Thompson, Billy Bob Thornton, and Owen Wilson, to name just a few.


Press release provided by the Austin Film Festival

Leave a comment